Skip to content ↓

Gonerby Hill Foot

Church of England Primary School

''

Summer Term Curriculum and Learning

 

Information for parents about what pupils are learning this term.

Our new summer term topics are now underway and the children are already hooked. The Y1/2 children are busy finding out where the seaside is while the Y5/6 children are considering the fairness of punishments in Roman times. The Y3/4 classrooms are being  invaded and the children are dissecting 'Viking poo'!

The lovely sunshine and warm weather has been very welcome and the children have been enjoying playtimes on the field. We do spend a lot of time outdoors in the summer term so it is important that pupils have sun hats and wear sun cream for protection. They also need trainers for their outdoor PE lessons.

Here are the Big Questions and links to curriculum newsletters for parents with details of what the children will be learning this term.

Class assemblies are on Thursdays at 9am and led by classes as follows:

  • Dahl – 2nd May
  • Blyton – 9th May
  • King-Smith – 16th May
  • Ahlberg – TUESDAY 21st May
  • Defoe – 6th June
  • Carroll – 13th June
  • Potter – 20th June
  • Carle – 27th June
  • Sendak – 4th July
  • McKee – 11th July

Here are events we are looking forward to this term:

  • Y2 SATs tests – throughout May
  • Y6 SATs tests – w/c 13th May
  • Y5/6 Galleries of Justice Trip - Monday 20th May
  • Dahl Class starts swimming – Tuesday 21st May
  • Class Photos – Thursday 23rd May
  • FSA Discos - Thursday 23rd May
  • Reception trip to White Post Farm – Wednesday 5th June
  • Book People Book Fair – starts Wednesday 12th June
  • Y3 at Mini-Olympics – Tuesday 18th June
  • Y4 Kingswood Residential – Wednesday 19th June
  • Infant Sports Day – Thursday 27th June
  • KS2 Sports Day – Friday 28th June
  • Y6 Secondary Transition Day – Tuesday 2nd July
  • Y5/6 Performances – Wednesday 10th July – 1:45pm and 5:30pm
  • Transition Day – Monday 15th July
  • Y6 Leavers Service – Thursday 18th July, 9:30am at St Seb’s
  • Y6 Parents Gala Dinner – Thursday 18th July

Parents should also look out for an invite to their child’s class assembly this term and details of clubs their child can attend.

Parents can keep up to date with school events via the School Calendar.